Why I share on Social Media


CP1_7199-Green
Defend your beliefs with courtesy and with compassion, but defend them.

I have a very sensitive heart. If someone says something rude to me it can wreck my day, even my week.

I’ve cried over things people have said to me on Social Media, several times.

I’ve had people unfriend me, curse me out, people I grew up with in high school saying horrific things about me.

People I actually love and pray for questioning my integrity, my soul, my heart online because of my Political Views.

It’s ugly.

It’s not easy, and simply, I hate it.

So why do it?

Every single day I ask myself this.

Every day I start with a prayer, read my scriptures and or/ listen to a religious talk to calm me and help prepare me for my day.

I have anxiety and depression and have experienced different types of abuse which affect my self-esteem to this day.

I care what people think about me, to a fault.

So then I bravely step into social media world where my heart is torn to pieces, I feel that I need to share something I know someone will hate or judge me for.

I feel prompted to share my beliefs, testify and stand up for what I believe and sometimes absolutely know to be true.

I have a feeling it doesn’t always do much good.

But if I lived in fear only of what others thought and not what God thought what kind of Christian would I be?

I would be putting others opinions of me before my Lord’s. And I cant’ live with that.

I can live with the bullying, the unfriending, the mean jabs that still shock me every time they happen because at the end of it, I can pray, read my scriptures and feel the Lord’s love for me again and I know that is what matters.

I do not boast in my skills, but only the Lord giving me the strength every day.

I see Social Media as a battlefield and I get wounded often. But that doesn’t mean I go home and hide from the war. I wasn’t born to hide and be fearful of possibly changing the world.

I believe there is so much good in this world and I believe people are sometimes misguided or just unknowing about certain topics.

Yes, I make mistakes.

Yes, I may let my passion for a subject go too far.

Yes, I’ve said dumb things, or I don’t know everything.

But what I know, I know.

And I know I can’t give up. Because that would be a waste.

I’m not a waste, and although I am afraid I am brave.

Although I doubt myself every day, I am strengthened every day too.

I don’t want to live in fear, so every day I choose faith.

10 Fear thou not; for I am with thee: be not dismayed; for I am thy God: I will strengthen thee; yea, I will help thee; yea, I will uphold thee with the right hand of my righteousness.-Isaiah 41:10

PS-if this all sounds super melodramatic, it’s because I just wanted to portray how much I hate it so you know, i really feel i need to post if i hate it that much 😀

Read more about how friends can disagree HERE

I'd love to hear what you have to say

