Happy Mothers Day: My Thoughts About All Women Today


DSC_2748alyssa&mason

Today is my first Mother’s Day! To me it was time to reflect on the last year and also try to say something that hasn’t already been said by countless moms to possibly convey what being a mom actually is like. It’s impossible without being a mother yourself but I figured I would speak my mind on it anyways.

I always knew I wanted to be a mom. It was never a doubt in my mind. Having said that I also know countless mothers who struggle to be able to birth children of their own and desperately want to be a mother and that always struck my heart. We all see over the news the mothers who hurt their children and take their lives.

I get frustrated at the thought that these women are able to conceive a child and then take them away from this life but a wonderful caring person cannot bear a child of their own. It makes me second guess talking about how much I love being a mom and what a gift it is when so many women out their cannot conceive. I’m not going to pretend to understand that or justify it or try to act like those women need to hear my council.

However for my own sake to make sense of it in my mind I remember that life doesn’t end with this life. I know that there is life after death and I know that women who do not have the chance to raise children in this life will have the opportunity in the next. I know that women who have experienced the heartache of a miscarriage or stillborn or young child leaving this earth will have the opportunity to raise them in the next life. I know that. I know that God is just and loving and He has a plan for all of us. I don’t want to preach but I just know that’s true.

I know that for me being a mother is something I do my best to not take for granted or flaunt because it is a precious gift and I can only partly understand the magnitude of it. It is scary at times and of course it’s hard. But no great thing is easy. Plus being a mom is far better than anything else that is hard anyways. And just because something is hard doesn’t mean it’s bad either.

So on this Mother’s Day I hope that all women out there whether they want a child, whether they have a child, whether they are the mother to a child that they did not personally birth from their body, whether they do not have a child but desperately want a child or are missing children that have left this temporary existence, I want them to know they are all equal. They are all wonderful in their own ways and not to worry about appearances and frustrations.

But I do also want to thank my mother for the love she has shown me. For her prayers on my behalf that I know she whispered on her knees by her bedside. I know that those prayers have helped me throughout my life and that her example of countless service and love have made me be a better mother to my child. I know a Mother’s love is probably the most profound and deep love in existence.

I hope this made some sort of sense. These are just the thoughts I’ve had today and I hope that it came across as sincere because I am sincere. I also think instead of constantly worrying about what we don’t have, we should recognize what we do.

I'd love to hear what you have to say

