What I would tell my Lil Mormon Kids if they were being lead astray


View More: http://kyleeannphotography.pass.us/october--cody

I’m not an official voice for The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. I would say that I try my best to be a lil humble servant and do what I can to follow the teachings. So no I am not saying what I’m saying is doctrine or that I think I am in any position to tell you how to live your life. What I am saying is, if I had kids and they were being lead astray as I see my fellow loved ones ..This is what I would tell them. I’m big on being honest with those we love. I’m tough and I will tell it like it is. Get all bent outta shape if you want. I’m ready.

As you know, I’m pretty black and white when it comes to living the Gospel. Sometimes I say bad things or gossip, that’s not good-that’s bad. I need to repent and take the Sacrament and do my best to be an example. We aren’t perfect. No one is perfect. If others aren’t perfect, that’s fine, don’t judge them for it. But sometimes, we need to be careful about who we follow, and what we do. It’s ok for instance in this case, to doubt some teachings in The Church. It’s ok to wonder if Thomas S. Monson is an actual Prophet of God. That’s why we are here..to find out the truth! To fix our doubts, we can simply pray and ask God. We can read our scriptures for answers. We can even go to General Conference and listen to the Prophet, Apostles, and Leaders of the church with a prayerful heart..seeking answers to our questions. I am confident that we will receive any answer with a humble heart and a contrite spirit. (That means don’t be prideful about it..God knows the difference.)

These days more and more people will attack you for your beliefs. They will question why you belong to such a church. They will tell you what you believe and what you should really be doing. You know what I think? I think that that’s nice they care, but I’m gonna do what God wants me to do. My mother taught me about obedience. My mission President taught me that we always need to strive for exact obedience. The scriptures taught me, wickedness never was happiness. (Disobedience)

So like you, I’ve wondered about this Ordain Women thing, about Gay marriage, about the Proclamation to the Family and so on. So I sought my guidance through those whom I have come to find have not yet lead me astray, God and his chosen leaders. It’s an interesting thing this world. They tell you to rely on your mind, that we are so knowledgeable that we don’t need God or that even we may know better than God. I have come to find that is simply hogwash. If we can’t stop people from dying of cancer or whatever I have a hard time believing how much people actually know. We may know a lot, but we in no way know it all. That’s why when I start to wonder about things at church, like I said I seek for answers in the right places.

Have you felt the Spirit confirm the truth before? It’s a very peaceful and wonderful feeling unlike anything else. For me, it’s nearly impossible to replicate that wonderful feeling or mistake it. So if you know how you feel when God affirms to you that there is truth, then you know how to receive answers. If not, we can talk more about that, that’s not a problem at all.

Which brings me to what I feel is a rather difficult part because like I said, I’m not an official spokeswoman for the church. I’m not claiming to know more than the Prophet. I just know He’s the Lord’s Prophet.

The follow are excerpts from an Apostle of the Lord, Elder Oaks when he spoke in the Priesthood session last April (2014). I wanted to highlight these because I feel it relates to the issues that may be tearing members away from the Church today.

“Ultimately, all keys of the priesthood are held by the Lord Jesus Christ, whose priesthood it is. He is the one who determines what keys are delegated to mortals and how those keys will be used.” (Christ chooses who holds His Priesthood, not the leaders of the church.)

“Priesthood is the power of God delegated to man to act for the salvation of the human family, [secondly,] priesthood authority is governed by priesthood holders who hold priesthood keys..” The Priesthood is about service, in fact serving women and the family. It is a service. Does it not make you feel happy that God has called servants to take care of his most sacred creations of women and children? He cares about you and I. He knows how men are and loves them and has commanded them to honor the Priesthood of God that they hold to better your life. It’s for you!  This isn’t about how they are more deserving or more qualified. It is not their right it is a tender privilege.

Are women to hold the Priesthood?

Elder Oaks quotes President J. Reuben Clark when he says, “This is the place of our wives and of our mothers in the Eternal Plan. They are not bearers of the Priesthood; they are not charged with carrying out the duties and functions of the Priesthood; nor are they laden with its responsibilities; they are builders and organizers under its power, and partakers of its blessings, possessing the complement of the Priesthood powers and possessing a function as divinely called, as eternally important in its place as the Priesthood itself.”

So if they are not to hold the Priesthood what good are they one might say. (Although I disagree that holding the Priesthood is something needed in my life)

Joseph Fielding Smith (YEARS AGO!!!) said the follow:  “While the sisters have not been given the Priesthood, it has not been conferred upon them, that does not mean that the Lord has not given unto them authority. … A person may have authority given to him, or a sister to her, to do certain things in the Church that are binding and absolutely necessary for our salvation, such as the work that our sisters do in the House of the Lord. They have authority given unto them to do some great and wonderful things, sacred unto the Lord, and binding just as thoroughly as are the blessings that are given by the men who hold the Priesthood.”

It’s not about whether these quotes are true or not, it’s whether these men are called of God. If so, then there isn’t a question about who is right or who guides them to make such statements. This council comes from our Lord and we are to follow them and aren’t to dismiss their words.

Elder Russel M. Ballard added to these words on women and the Priesthood by saying,  “Our Church doctrine places women equal to and yet different from men.God does not regard either gender as better or more important than the other. … “When men and women go to the temple, they are both endowed with the same power, which is priesthood power. … Access to the power and the blessings of the priesthood is available to all of God’s children.

Do you not know women are equal to men? Do you believe that because they hold the Priesthood it makes you less? Of course not. You are a daughter of God and He has sent you to this earth on a different but not less equal quest. You can accept that or fight it, it is your choice. He has given us all agency.

With regarding to gay marriage Elder Anderson spoke in April saying, “This past month the First Presidency and the Quorum of the Twelve published a letter to leaders of the Church across the world. In part it read: “Changes in the civil law do not, indeed cannot, change the moral law that God has established. God expects us to uphold and keep His commandments regardless of divergent opinions or trends in society. His law of chastity is clear: sexual relations are proper only between a man and a woman who are legally and lawfully wedded as husband and wife. We urge you to review … the doctrine contained in ‘The Family: A Proclamation to the World.

He continues..”While many governments and well-meaning individuals have redefined marriage, the Lord has not. In the very beginning, God initiated marriage between a man and a woman—Adam and Eve. He designated the purposes of marriage to go far beyond the personal satisfaction and fulfillment of adults to, more importantly, advancing the ideal setting for children to be born, reared, and nurtured. Families are the treasure of heaven.”

Not clear enough for you? How about Elder Oaks again in October 2013: “Our understanding of God’s plan and His doctrine gives us an eternal perspective that does not allow us to condone such behaviors or to find justification in the laws that permit them. And, unlike other organizations that can change their policies and even their doctrines, our policies are determined by the truths God has identified as unchangeable.”

This doctrine will not change.  That is the answer. They have stated it several times in conference and even in public letters. For me, if you already don’t believe Elder Oaks or any other member of the twelve is an Apostle what good does it do for you if they say anything? You already have your mind made up and it won’t change, that’s fine! But I must be honest, following God is the only way to lead you to happiness. No other person can lead you to that. God’s way is the only way. Please, follow Him.

All I’m sayin is if you don’t know if they are prophets, pray about it! It makes life so much easier if you can just say, I can simply say, “Well President Monson, I trust you. I may not understand everything, but I stand by you 100%. I’ve felt the Spirit confirm you are called of God. If I have any further doubts, I can always continue to seek that in prayer.”

Obedience is about faith. It’s about trusting in God. It’s not about stupidity or lack of knowledge. It is a strength and is in no way a weakness! How easy it would it be for me to join the crowd and support Gay marriage? I would be much more accepted and applauded by my non LDS friends and others. I would have so much support from those outside the church if I cried out and marched into Temple Square in demanding of the Priesthood for all women. But you know what? I don’t want your acceptance, I want God’s. I don’t need you to like me or agree with me, I fear God. I know He loves me and all He has done for me. I know that I want to live with Him again and I will follow Him, even and especially when I am mocked by those that oppose.

I take heed when Elder Oaks states, ” A moral coward is one who is afraid to do what he thinks is right because others will disapprove or laugh. Remember that all men have their fears, but those who face their fears with dignity have courage as well.”

I will not be a coward. I can take the jabs and the mocking from friends and even fellow Mormons. Yes it hurts I’m human and I’m a sensitive one at that. Yes I always wonder..why are you attacking me? I do not make the rules. I didn’t write the Plan of Salvation or the Proclamation the Family why are you mad at me for agreeing with them?? But by writing things like this I guess I’m asking for it. Although you will get no where with me. My foundation is in Christ, not the world. And it is firm and unyielding.

Our beloved Prophet President Hinckley proclaimed: “The Church is true. Those who lead it have only one desire, and that is to do the will of the Lord. They seek his direction in all things. There is not a decision of significance affecting the Church and its people that is made without prayerful consideration, going to the fount of all wisdom for direction. Follow the leadership of the Church. God will not let his work be led astray.”

DSC_1719

Lastly, let’s take a look at what the scriptures have said, as they were written for us and you and me and not just other people.

Helaman 13:  24 Yea, wo unto this people, because of this time which has arrived, that ye do cast out the prophets, and do mock them, and cast stones at them, and do slay them, and do all manner of iniquity unto them, even as they did of old time.

26 Behold ye are worse than they; for as the Lord liveth, if a prophet come among you and declareth unto you the word of the Lord, which testifieth of your sins and iniquities, ye are angry with him, and cast him out and seek all manner of ways to destroy him; yea, you will say that he is a false prophet, and that he is a sinner, and of the devil, because he testifieth that your deeds are evil.

27 But behold, if a man shall come among you and shall say: Do this, and there is no iniquity; do that and ye shall not suffer; yea, he will say: Walk after the pride of your own hearts; yea, walk after the pride of your eyes, and do whatsoever your heart desireth—and if a man shall come among you and say this, ye will receive him, and say that he is a prophet.

28 Yea, ye will lift him up, and ye will give unto him of your substance; ye will give unto him of your gold, and of your silver, and ye will clothe him with costly apparel; and because he speaketh flattering words unto you, and he saith that all is well, then ye will not find fault with him.

29 O ye wicked and ye perverse generation; ye hardened and ye stiffnecked people, how long will ye suppose that the Lord will suffer you? Yea, how long will ye suffer yourselves to be led by foolish and blind guides? Yea, how long will ye choose darkness rather than light?

Matthew 24: 24 “For there shall arise false Christs, and false prophets, and shall shew great signs and wonders; insomuch that, if it were possible, they shall deceive the very elect.” Even the very elect. Even the most righteous! Even, me or you.

I don’t say these things because I think I am so obedient and wonderful. I know my faults. I know that I too can be lead astray if I am not careful, prayerful and diligent in follow God. That is why I felt I needed to write this because I have been prompted to write this many many many times but I felt I was unworthy and would be ridiculed for it. (I was scared of what you would think of me!)

But  I will follow God and do as I am told, even in something as silly as writing a blogpost only to be read mostly by people who already agree with me and the ones that don’t will be really upset and will probably say mean things to me.. but I’ll do it.

Does this sound too intense? Could I be wrong? Well let me ask you how protesting the Brethren make you feel? I would guess that following anyone opposing the Prophet will lead you to bitterness, and anger. Does it make you feel good and joyful like when you feel the Spirit? When you prayed about the Church and Joseph Smith didn’t you feel at peace? I can only assume that not following the Prophet’s counsel cannot bring those feelings. Satan can try to mimic those feelings with of pride and self-accomplishment and self-righteousness, but never joy and peace.

So say I am not just a crazy fool and I have said some things that are right..now what? We align our will with God’s.

“Our Savior wants us to really love Him to the point that we want to align our will with His. We can then feel His love and know His glory. Then He can bless us as He wants to. That’s exactly how I feel about the Savior. He is always near, especially in sacred places and in times of need; and sometimes, when I least expect, I feel almost like He taps me on the shoulder to let me know He loves me. I can return that love in my own imperfect way by giving Him my heart.”-Elder Vinson

I testify that what the leaders of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints say are true. I testify that they will not lead us astray, but others will try to. I have read the warnings, I know that the time is now to act and follow Christ. To be obedient and to give our will to God. There is no other way to be truly happy, or to live with our Heavenly Father again. He loves us, and I love Him. I know He loves us, even when we disobey or go astray. I will love you no matter what you do, but I will not always support your choices. Sometimes we are going to disagree, but that doesn’t mean we can’t be friends.

The Atonement is made with love. The Church of Jesus Christ is made on a foundation of love for God’s children. Only your pride and your fears can take this away from you. Only you can choose for yourself to follow Christ and choose obedience. The time is now.

6 thoughts on “What I would tell my Lil Mormon Kids if they were being lead astray

  1. Interesting how much burn there is in this post but how few have posted in response with something inflammatory.

    I read this with great gusto. I feel exactly the same way, and I’ve no taste for beating around the bush when it comes to what I feel strongly is right. I hope that people will wake up and really understand the scriptures…especially the ones you’ve cited.

    Like

    • Don’t jinx it!! haha thanks 🙂 I know I have not had anyone attack me for it yet..keep your fingers crossed. Even though I don’t know if the people that disagree with me are reading it.

      Like

  2. Pingback: Ordain Women. (At Least They’re Not Black Men.) | STIRFRIES

I'd love to hear what you have to say

