I am Loud and Obnoxious


View More: http://kyleeannphotography.pass.us/october--cody
As we know, Cody is opinionated.

Not just in politics, not just with religion, but with food, manners, everrrrythhiningg. So I can come off as obnoxious, rude, not compassionate and even aggressive. I sometimes see things in black and white. There’s a wrong and a right. You pick a side and that’s that. But see even if I see things black and white, I know that it’s ok if you don’t. I agree that it’s ok that we all don’t have to be the same and agree with everything Cody says.

But I will still proclaim my beliefs in a bold manner because that’s just how I am.
As a missionary if you needed to pray harder I would say, “You need to pray harder, you are slacking off and you know it.” (Guys calm down I said it with love!)
I hate beating around the bush but sometimes if I don’t, people get their feelings hurt.

However, I am also horrible about getting my point across in a kind manner, so I give up sometimes on trying to be tactful. I think, they know who I am, they know my beliefs, and if they still love me.. than great!

Yes you need to be kind to others, yes you need to be understanding and loving. So being bold is not kind and loving?
 Just ask my girlfriends! I will tell them straight up to dump that loser. I tell them how I feel about him. Half the time they don’t listen to me and the other half of the time they do but it takes them months to finally go through with it. Even if they stay dating that loser, I am gonna stick by my friend and love them and help them when that guy treats them badly because I love my friend. I may not support her decisions, I may not support what she is doing and I think she would be better off without him..but she knows where I stand. She knows I love her, even when I am upfront and honest with her.

Please understand we all have disagreements and don’t see eye to eye. We could very well never see eye to eye. I may disagree with you and you may disagree with me. But we can still love each other.
You don’t have to get your feelings hurt by me.
I don’t mean to be mean. It’s tough love from me.

My husband is the same way. My mom & Dad are the same way. It’s: “suck it up buttercup”.

Sometimes I cry, sometimes I get my feelings hurt because people can be mean but we move on. Holding a grudge is lame.

I think being mean is completely different then being bold.

If you are trying to hurt someone’s feelings it can be pretty obvious.
If someone is saying their opinion and you are offended by it.. Think, “are they being mean?” Or maybe, “am I offended just because I just don’t agree”.

Remember, we all have the right to share our opinions.

There’s a difference between being bold and mean/judgmental and sometimes I cross that line and I apologize! We all make mistakes right?

Sometimes my passions cloud my better judgement and that’s when I have to relax. Take a breather and then I can share my opinion if I see fit. I love that we can all share our opinions on facebook and blogging so easily! It’s great to see different perspectives.

I pride myself in having friends who are from completely different backgrounds than me. They don’t agree with me, they protest against things that I am protesting for. At the end of the day we still love each other. Or maybe they hate me..but I still think they’re great!

So no I’m not sorry I am opinionated. No I am not sorry that you think I come off too strong. But I ain’t gonna change. I don’t think I need to. I think I am kind and loving and if you know me, you know that.

Also please remember, it’s always ok to take me aside and say hey, this hurt my feelings Cody. I can try to tone it down a notch or rephrase what I said because I could realize, I was wrong. But remember,
I never ever am trying to be mean on purpose.
But I will always be proclaiming my beliefs and if you don’t like it then you can just hide me from your newsfeed so I don’t drive you crazy. 😉

I won’t mind. I understand I can be quite annoying!
(My husband has informed me I can be too much at times.. he’s not nearly as opinionated as I am!)

Let me also say thank you to those who share my strong belief that we can all be friends though we may have strong differences in opinion. You have no idea how happy it makes me that you still put up with me.

dr. seuss

Related Posts:

Friends Can Disagree

Bullying Means Being Mean

2 thoughts on “I am Loud and Obnoxious

  1. One thing I admire about you is that you really ARE open to others. I know we haven’t agreed on issues important to both of us, but I always felt that I could approach you myself, and that you’d listen.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Marsha you have no idea how much I appreciate you saying this! From time to time I worry how I come across and if people understand I really will not be judgmental to them and I think of what you said and it makes me feel so good. 🙂 Thank you! I have always enjoyed our conversations especially the ones where we talk about how different we are. I love that.

      Like

I'd love to hear what you have to say

