Don’t You Give Up


P1120296

Awhile ago I shared my personal story of how I almost took away the greatest gift, the gift of my life. I have read several articles since of others who did indeed take their own life and I feel like I must speak about it again.

There is hope. There is always a way out. Life may be extremely hard to bear right now but please understand, you are not alone. I know you feel alone. I know you feel like no one in this world even cares, or maybe that their lives would be better off without you. It would not be. If you are in trouble of some kind-get help. Maybe you have been looking in the wrong places. Maybe some people will not listen but I know someone who always listens. If not on earth, then look to heaven.

Please don’t sit there and think about how much you dislike what you’ve done or who you think you are. Please don’t take this burden on your own. I know how you feel and I know that you can get better. I know that if you push through this you will overcome it and years from now you will look back and be so glad you did. Years from now you will shudder, cry and even feel sick at the thought of what you almost did but I promise you will be glad you didn’t. 

Yes, this afterlife would bring you peace. Yes it would probably relieve you from some problems you have right now. But it can wait until the day God decides your life is done. Until then you will fight hte fight. You will have hope. I know where to get it. In the words of Jean ValJean. “He gave me hope when hope was gone. He gave me strength to journey on. Who am I?” Who are you? Well I’ll be brutally honest. You are a son or daughter of God. And you are loved by Him who created you. Bad things happen. Horribly bad and unjust things happen to all of us. But I know that God still loves you. Please believe me. Please do me a favor and talk to Him. Give Him one last shot.

I did. When I thought that hope was gone. When I thought there was no where else to turn. Somehow, I started talking to God. Begging Him to forgive me, to just put me out of my misery. I couldn’t stand the thought of facing another day. But then something happened. I felt love. I felt warmth all over me. Inside my body in the room, I felt light in the darkness of my room. As another girl put it, (from look to the light in the movie below) “it felt like a warm hug wrapped around me.” See, I’m not the only one who felt it. You can feel it too. So please don’t quit. Don’t you give up. You are worth more than that. You came into this life not to give up on it.

I promise you will be happy again. Your life will have joyful moments in it. You will if you just try again. It doesn’t happen all in one day but it can’t happen if you just quit.

There are plenty of recourses out there. Go talk to someone. Share this so that person you don’t even know is struggling can find it too.

“Don’t you quit. You keep walking, you keep trying, there is help and happiness ahead. Some blessings come soon. Some come late. Some don’t come until heaven. But for those who embrace the gospel of Jesus Christ, they come. It will be alright in the end. Trust God and believe in Good Things to Come.”-Elder Holland

Get Help

National Suicide Hotline

Need help? In the U.S., call 1-800-273-8255

National Suicide Prevention Lifeline

Your Life Your Voice

Remedy Life

I'd love to hear what you have to say

